Thorn in My Heart

by Liz Curtis Higgs

Two brothers fight to claim one father’s blessing. Two sisters long to claim one man’s heart.

In the autumn of 1788, amid the moors and glens of the Scottish Lowlands, two brothers and two sisters each embark on a painful journey of discovery. Jamie and Evan McKie both want their father Alec’s flocks and lands, yet only one brother will inherit Glentrool. Leana and Rose McBride both yearn to catch the eye of the same handsome lad, yet only one sister will be his bride.

A thorny love triangle emerges, plagued by lies and deception, jealousy and desire, hidden secrets and broken promises. Brimming with passion and drama, Thorn in My Heart brings the past to vibrant life, revealing spiritual truths that transcend time and penetrate the deepest places of the heart.

Recent Reviews

Beautiful Retelling of the Story of Jacob, Leah, & Rachel

Christiana Mustion

4.5 Stars

Thorn in My Heart by Liz Curtis Higgs is a 1700s Scottish retelling of the Biblical story of Jacob, Leah, & Rachel. It is also the first of four books in the Lowlands of Scotland Series. From the very beginning the book is…

Read Review

Love and Deception

Sandra Wall

5 Stars

"Thorn in my Heart", by Liz Curtis Higgs, is about deception, love of 2 sisters,and a cousin that has to choose between the two. While reading this story, or any story, I always read to learn something. Even though the book is…

Read Review